October 17, 1944

Oct 17, 1944

“Still flying and the missions aren’t getting any easier. Today Millard flew with us as he got out of the hospital day of the last mission. He is one, pissed off man and I don’t blame him. The Doc told me and him that he was through with combat, and here he is flying again. Low down dirty trick, if you ask me. He is awful tired and run down, his flying is still OK but he’s under an awful strain and is liable to crack. Oh what a chicken shit place this is. I will be glad when I leave. Today’s target was a different marshalling yard at Cologne, Germany. Once again, we were briefed for 290 guns at the target and this time saw more than we did this time. On the bomb run we were pushed out of formation by a fella’s flying a 1-4. Good thing because flak was bursting right where we were supposed to be. The flak tracked us for almost 3 minutes and was right in the same position every time, smack in front of us. We dropped our bombs and made a right turn clearing all flak and flew home without seeing anymore. Once more we saw no fighters. Hope I can say the same on the next mission. ONE MORE TO GO”

Leave a comment