October 14, 1944…Sweating It Out

Oct 14, 1944

“Guess my luck has long been gone, here all the crews before us get relieved at thirty- to thirty two missions and we are still flying. Target today was a marshalling yard at Cologne, Ger. The co-pilot today was damn good, it was his first mission and was cool as a cucumber. We split the flying time so I didn’t tire as easily as the last mission. We saw flak at two places and suffered light damage. There was plenty of flak at the target but none close enough to make effective damage. I was surprised as hell. We were briefed for 220 guns at the target. Everyone got back okay, weather was good, we bombed PFF. Saw no fighters. I was scared as hell all the time.  These last missions I am really sweating out. I might fly a mission tomorrow and then again be relieved. If I fly tomorrow I might be killed then the day after replacements come in. Damn scared and I am not kidding. Two more to go.”

Leave a comment